• Advertisement

Best position for a radiator

Dedicated place to discuss commonly found heating & HW systems.

Best position for a radiator

Postby Henry » Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:20 pm

Hi,

What's the best position in a room for a radiator? I.e. on an external wall, under a window, away from these areas etc? Also how come you never see several small radiators in a room instead of one big one. Wouldn't this heat a room more evenly?

Thanks

Henry
Henry
HEA Regular
HEA Regular

Advertisement

Re: Best position for a radiator

Postby WELSHMAN » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:08 am

This is a really good question. When I studied environmental studies I was taught that the radiator should always be fixed to an internal wall, this to aid heating the next room. In reality the radiator is usually fixed to an external wall to help reduce damp, more often than not underneath a window, of which would be the least efficient place to put a radiator. I will be interested to read comments on this.
WELSHMAN
HEA Regular
HEA Regular

Postby Angib » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:15 pm

The traditional place to put radiators was under windows, at least until the 70s/80s. The logic was that rising column of hot air coming off the radiator would counteract the falling stream of cool air cooled by the (of course, then single-glazed) window. The worst place was considered to be opposite the window where the rising column over the radator and across the ceiling would combine with the falling stream down the window and across the floor to create a continuous air loop - meaning those sitting in the room would be in A Cold Draught (a much-feared condition that at the very least gave you continuous colds and in the elderly caused instant death).