• Advertisement

Radiators cold upstairs, warm downstairs - help

Advice and information all types of boiler systems using gas, oil, LPG or solid fuel.

Radiators cold upstairs, warm downstairs - help

Postby Andrew S » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:13 pm

I have a Vokera Linea 28 combi boiler and have just found that the upstairs radiators are not heating up. The strange thing is that downstairs the radiators are working just fine. The hot water is working up and downstairs which is even more strange.

Whilst its better than the heating being completely off, it is a bit chilly upstairs.
Andrew S
HEA Member
HEA Member

Advertisement

Re: Radiators cold upstairs, warm downstairs - help

Postby JBrown » Wed Dec 08, 2010 12:10 pm

I am no gas engineer and sure there are others better placed to help than me but i will try :)

Do all the radiators have TRVs upstairs, are they fully open?

Do you have any room stats upstairs are they remote or wired?

If you close all the valves downstairs do upstairs heat up now?

Are there any error messages on the boiler?

Have you tried bleeding the system?
JBrown
HEA Senior
HEA Senior

Postby greensystemsuk » Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:57 pm

Check that there is pressure in the system if it's pressurised. Fill it up to 1 bar if required.

Make sure the room stat/s are all calling for heat and the heating is selected on the controller to ON.

Close all the rads that are working by shutting the TRV's. This will force the hot water from the boiler to the rads that aren't working, as each rad startes to work also close that one until the last one works.

Now open up all the TRV's as you usually have them, job done.
greensystemsuk

Postby Andrew S » Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:12 pm

Do all the radiators have TRVs upstairs, are they fully open? Yes

Do you have any room stats upstairs are they remote or wired? No, just downstairs in the hall and it is hard wired